Welcome to our Governors Section

Please find below details of how our Governing Body is structured, including name, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each governor.

Who are the school governors?

The Governing Body consists of the following

  • Parent Governors
  • Staff Governors (including the Headteacher)
  • LEA appointed Governors
  • Community Governors

You can contact the Chair of Governors by email at admin@risepark.nottingham.sch.uk

For the Academic Year 2023-24, Governing Body comprise of:-

  • Mrs Jeanette Kirkby (Chair & Co-opted) – Pupil Premium/Sports Funding; Standards and Achievement Maths
  • Mr Chris Martin (Vice-Chair & Parent) – Safeguarding; Health and Safety
  • Mrs Janet Molyneux (Co-opted & Staff – School Business Manager)
  • Mrs Natasha Kelly (Staff – Head Teacher)
  • Mrs Jo Hale (Co-opted) – Standards & Achievement to include curriculum English
  • Mrs Sally McDonnell (Parent) – EYFS; Staff Health and Wellbeing
  • Mrs Sullivan (Staff )
  • Miss Sue Richmond (Staff)
  • Mrs Rachel Commander (Parent) – Pupil Voice / Anti-Bullying
  • Mrs Trudy Hammerton (Parent) – SEND
  • Mr Ramone Williams (Parent) – Curricullum

What do the Governors do?

The role of the governing body is to take a largely strategic role in the running of the school. This includes:

  • Setting up a strategic framework for the school and helping to decide the school’s strategy for improvement;
  • Setting it’s aims, objectives and priorities;
  • Agreeing policies and targets for achieving the objectives;
  • Monitoring and reviewing aims, objectives and whether the policies, targets and priorities are being achieved;
  • Acting as a critical friend by asking questions and push for improvements as well as promoting the interests of the school and its pupils;
  • Ensure accountability by discussing and refining proposals while respecting the professional roles of the Head Teacher and other staff. In its turn the governing body answers for its actions to parents and the wider local community for the school’s overall performance.

The governing body is not responsible for the internal organisation, management and control of the school. This is the responsibility of the Head Teacher.

Powers and duties of the Governing Body

The governing body has general responsibility for the conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement.

  • setting appropriate targets for pupil achievement at Key Stages EYFS, 1 and 2
  • Managing the school’s budget
  • Reporting National Curriculum assessments and examination results.
  • Appointing the headteacher and deputy headteacher, determining how the appointment of other staff will be managed and establishing procedures for management of staff conduct and discipline and staff grievances;
  • Reviewing the school’s performance management policy.
  • Managing governor’s duties to pupils with Special Educational Needs under Section 317 of the Education Act 1996; and
  • Drawing up an action plan after an inspection.

For more information or to express your interest in being a School Governor in the city of Nottingham, visit here.

Please note that the Complaints Policy is available in the Policies section of this website. Should you have cause for complaint then please contact the class teacher in the first instance or speak to the Head Teacher, Mrs N Kelly.

Governor Impact Statement 23

Governor Information and Register of Business Interests

Governor details Category Appointed by Term of Office Committee on which they serve Role/Responsibility Relevant business interests / Relationship to school staff
Mrs Jeanette Kirkby (Chair) Co-opted Governing Body 4 years

Start Date:  29.03.21

Finance & General Purposes Committee,

Pay Committee,

Pupil Discipline Committee (If needed),

Staff Discipline and Dismissal Committee

Chair of pay committee,

Pupil & PE Premium Governor, HR Governor, Maths Governor and

Outcomes for pupils

Mr Chris Martin

(Vice Chair)

Parent Parent/Carers 4 years

Start Date:


Personnel, Pupils & Curriculum Committee, Staff Discipline and Dismissal Appeals Committee. HT Appraisal Governor, Personal Development, Safeguarding and , Pupil Premium and Health and Safety None
Mrs Janet Molyneux (Business Manager) Staff Governing body 4 years

Start Date:


Finance & General Purposes Committee,

Personnel, Pupils & Curriculum Committee

Pupil & PE Premium,

Outcomes for Pupils

Mrs Natasha Kelly (Headteacher) Headteacher Local Authority Headteacher Personnel, Pupils & Curriculum Committee Headteacher None
Jo Hale Parent Governing body 4 years

Start Date:


Personnel, Pupils & Curriculum Committee,

Pay Committee

Teaching & Learning to include English and SEND None
Sally McDonnell Parent Parent / Carers 4 Years

Start Date: 25.07.22

Finance Committee Early Years Governor None
Rachel Commander Parent Parent / Carers 4 Years

Start Date:


Finance Committee Pupil Voice / Anti-Bullying Governor None
Trudy Hammerton Parent Parent / Carers 4 Years

Start Date: 25.07.22

Personnel, Pupils & Curriculum Committee SEND None
Ramone Williams Co-opted Governing Body 4 Years

Start Date 25.01.23

Finance Committee Teaching and Learning None
Sue Richmond Staff Governing Body 4 Years

Start Date:


Personnel, Pupils & Curriculum Committee Teaching and learning
Bron Sullivan Staff Staff 4 Years

Start Date


Personnel, Pupils & Curriculum Committee Teaching and learning

Our Governors have no governance roles in other Educational Institutions.

Academic Year 2022 -2023 Attendance at Meetings

Attendance at meetings – Academic Year 2022 -2023
Autumn 2022 Spring 2023 Summer 2023
FGP 10.10 SDC 10.10 FGB 05.12 FGP 27.2 SDC 27.2 FGB


FGP 26.6 SDC 26.6 FGB


J Kirkby, Chair Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
C Martin, VC Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
R Commander Y Y Y Apols Y Y Y Y Y
B Ford Y Apols Y Apols Apols Y Y Y Y
J Hale Y Y Y Y Y Y
T Hammerton Y Y Y Y Y Apols Y
S McDonnell Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
J Molyneux Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
S Richmond Y Y Y Y Y Y
M Shadbolt Y Y Y Y Y Y
R Williams Y Y
N Kelly, HT Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y